Home > Uncategorized > Run/Walk Wednesday: Robin LaBorwit

Run/Walk Wednesday: Robin LaBorwit

April 10, 2013

IMG_0738Over the last few weeks, we’ve spent every Wednesday leading up to the Entertainment Industry Foundation’s Revlon Run/Walk (May 4 in New YorkMay 11 in Los Angeles), celebrating our team members! This week we talk to Robin LaBorwit, Social Work Supervisor extraordinaire in our Los Angeles office.

(We’d love to have you answer these questions, too! If you’re one of our team members, contact our captain Caroline Parrone, and you could be featured on our blog!)

Actors Fund: Are you walking in “honor” or “memory” of someone special in this year’s EIF Revlon Run/Walk? 
Robin LaBorwit: I am walking in honor of Lynn Redgrave, a staunch supporter of The Actors Fund.  I walked for the first time in the EIF Revlon Run/Walk the year that Ms. Redgrave died. I also walk in memory of my mother as well as in solidarity with my clients – past and present – and close friends who continue to live with cancer – some in remission.

AF: Why do you walk with The Actors Fund team?
RL: The Actors Fund provides a community of support and I believe that community is essential to the task of both living and dying.

AF: The Fund’s services help everyone in film, theatre, television, music, opera, radio and dance in need. So, what’s your favorite art form, and why?
RL: Hard question. My mother was in AFTRA, and I have very fond memories of being five years old and running amuck in the Ed Sullivan Theater (the last time I ran, by the way), so I grew up with television – I love television. I was also lucky enough to have been exposed and encouraged to go to all the Broadway and Off-Broadway and Off-off Broadway theater I could afford (thank you TKTS), and was also briefly a performance artist (another story for another day), so I love theater. I was also taught that the most hedonistic activity was going to a movie in the middle of the day, so I love movies. I thought I was going to be a dancer (I was too short), so I love dancing, too. Not to mention that I could not live without the radio when I drive. So, long story short…all of the above with the exception of opera (though that’s mostly because I don’t speak any other language).

AF: Run or walk, and why?
RL: I am a walker. I hate running – too much….running.

AF: We’re taking a vote: Suggest a Theme Song for this years’ team.
RL: How about a chant: “We’re here, we’re strong, live long!”

The EIF Revlon Run/Walk is an annual event that raises money and awareness for the fight against women’s cancers. Among other beneficiaries, proceeds help support The Fund’s The Phyllis Newman Women’s Health Initiative (PNWHI), created to address the myriad of concerns women face when dealing with a serious medical condition. Help us fight the fight by joining one of our teams (clickhere for NYChere for LA), or making a pledge or donation on behalf of someone who’s walking with us. Your pledge will help fund important research into the cause and cure of women’s cancers, prevention, education and support service programs for those women battling cancer and their families.

Categories: Uncategorized
