Home > Uncategorized > Thanks From Those We Are Helping Post-Sandy

Thanks From Those We Are Helping Post-Sandy

January 14, 2013

Just a few of the Thank You notes we've received

Just a few of the Thank You notes we’ve received

We would like to take a moment to acknowledge the generosity of Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS (BC/EFA), and their leadership in funding our efforts to help our colleagues hurt by Superstorm Sandy. BC/EFA acted quickly to grant $200,000 this past fall to The Fund, specifically for post-Sandy relief. This brought their 2012 giving to a total of $4,435,000. BC/EFA’s continuing leadership in providing critically needed funding for Actors Fund programs and services is inspiring and profoundly appreciated.

This support has been essential as we continue to aid those in performing arts and entertainment whose lives were affected by last fall’s storm. As of this week, the number of people we’re working with has risen to 608, and we have provided more than $300,000 in emergency assistance. In addition to our own resources, The Actors Fund is administering the financial assistance for SAG-AFTRA members through the Motion Picture Players Welfare Fund, SAG Foundation and AFTRA Foundation.

We’ve received a stack of thank-yous from the people we’ve helped so far (thanks to everyone’s support), and we thought we’d share a few of them with you:

I just wanted to let you know that I have received checks from The Actors Fund and Screen Actors Guild. I want to express my gratitude to you for your helpfulness and kindness during this period. I know there are others that are worse off than I, but your support throughout this process was reassuring for my particular circumstances and made me feel that I can now begin to move beyond the immediacy.

Your name and SAG will be with me when I sit down to Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow.

A few of the thank you notes we've received from those in our community helped post-Sandy!

A few of the thank you notes we’ve received from those in our community helped post-Sandy!

This past week we received the two checks you said to expect. During this very difficult time, I can’t really express how much it means to me and my family to receive this support from The Actors Fund, the SAG Foundation and the AFTRA Foundation. It is providing much needed financial help, but also doing a great deal to keep our morale up as we go into battle with the insurance company, and face the enormous task of rebuilding while keeping a safe and serviceable living area for ourselves and more importantly our [children].

As members of the [entertainment] community my husband… and I have participated in countless events for The Actors Fund. Little did we think we could be the beneficiaries of your generosity. But, as advertised, “help is on the way.”

You have our heartfelt thanks.

and

As a member of SAG-AFTRA, and a Staten Island, NY, resident and surviver of Superstorm Sandy, I want to thank you, your social services staff, the Screen Actors Guild Motion Picture Welfare Fund, the SAG Foundation for coming to my aid.

I would like to give a special thanks to one of your social workers, Jill Lederman, who provided me with much needed crisis counseling and financial assistance, before FEMA, who also did a wonderful job in helping.

I am so glad and proud to be a member of SAG-AFTRA, and thankful to God for being here today to say, Thank You all from the bottom of my heart.

and

I am infinitely grateful to SAG for the support I received last month to pay half of my mortgage. I still have debts on my credit cards for the repairs in my house… You see, I have to make one step down, to enter the first floor of my house and the insurance is fighting me over it…affirming it is then a basement!!! Such changes their obligations…

Anyway, I have my health and a roof over my head, as well as being part of a great community of people like you.

PS: A special thank you to [Actors Fund Social Worker Lynnell Herzer], who so graciously answered my call and supported me when I most needed it.

There are many who are still dealing with the difficulties brought about by the storm. Do you need help, or know someone who does? Visit our Superstorm Sandy Emergency Relief Fund to learn more about what The Actors Fund can do.

Categories: Uncategorized
